The Government of the Democratic Republic of the Congo is composed of a cabinet of ministers, deputy-ministers (vice-ministers), and occasionally state-ministers (which is a senior personal honorific title). The number of these ministers varies from one government to the next. The cabinet is headed by the Prime Minister of the Democratic Republic of the Congo, also known as the head of government, appointed by the President, from the political party, the group or the coalition that holds the majority of seats in the National Assembly.
In the Democratic Republic of the Congo, the cabinet is more commonly simply referred to as The Government.
The government is the effective executive arm of the state, in charge of all the country’s central administration, in all the domains reserved to the central government by the constitution, and in all the domains in which the central government has concurrent jurisdiction with the provinces.
The government is accountable to the Parliament. Any individual member of the government, as well the entire government, can be censored by its lower-chamber, the National Assembly, through the vote of a motion of censure, or a motion of no-confidence. When the Prime minister is censored, the entire government resigns.